News on your favorite shows, specials & more!

Student Identification

Mark_E Profile Photo
Mark_E
#1Student Identification
Posted: 2/2/11 at 5:03pm

Hello Broadway Board.
Heading back across the pond in March and hope to take advantage of some student ticket offers. I'm studying at a music college in the UK and my Student ID Card doesn't have an expiery date on it. Now this worked last summer for Memphis/A Little Night Music rushes but I am a bit concerned that they may turn around and not accept it, especially the newer shows which will just be opening.
I also have a 16-25 Railcard, which has an expiry date and the type I have is only for students, but it doesn't say this specifically. All the London theatre's accept this (and most my normal ID) but because NYC is completely different and probably don't see these often I'm also worried they won't be accepted.

I was thinking of applying for an ISIC, but wondering if these are widely accepted at Broadway theatre's or whether I should just hope they accept the ID I already have.

Thanks for any advice you can give.

Ryguy7 Profile Photo
Ryguy7
#2Student Identification
Posted: 2/2/11 at 5:29pm

I used to have a student ID, which I have now lost. It never had an expiry date on it. I was never questioned about it except once - trying to see Reasons to be Pretty at the Lyceum. No one else ever made note of that fact.

In my opinion, I think you are just fine..

Katurian2 Profile Photo
Katurian2
#2Student Identification
Posted: 2/2/11 at 5:46pm

Yup- my school ID never had a date on it, and I was always fine.

"Are you sorry for civilization? I am sorry for it too." ~Coast of Utopia: Shipwreck

winston89 Profile Photo
winston89
#3Student Identification
Posted: 2/2/11 at 9:21pm